Instead of being a financial analyst or CFO, like we as CFM students are trained to be, have you ever thought of being a salesperson? Being someone who is able to build your own wealth without relying on a more ‘front-facing entrepreneur’ to do it?

Have you wondered how to become a successful salesperson?

Well, according to “The Greatest Salesman in the World”, if you

1) Radiate positivity and love from the heart,
2) Set goals that are a hundred times bigger than what you can achieve now, and
3) Do everything you know you should do right NOW, as if today was your last day alive.

you’ll be successful.

Really, that’s it? No carefully constructed calculation or return-driven strategy? Just a bunch of self-help quotes?
Well, those are important too, of course. But don’t let the simplicity of 1), 2) and 3) fool you. Especially in the world of sales where rejection is constant and you risk having people throw things at your face, these principles are all the harder and all more important to stick to. Being able to get up and keep talking to customers after every failure requires a strength of mind.

I am guilty of failing to do all 1), 2) and 3) and this book was a wake-up call for me – not really to be a saleswoman but really be myself. I’ve been scared to dream big and do big things, always letting my self-doubt and hesitation get in the way. But after reading this I came to realize: no one else is going to tell me to dream big and be the fullest expression of myself – in fact, as soon as I do it I will meet resistance from other people. So I can’t dwell in what I think of myself, what others think of me…I have to put in the blood, sweat and tears to become the great person I know I am deep down inside.

I highly recommend getting a copy of this book for yourself. It’s a tiny, short read that doesn’t just give you a list of quotes: it tells a story and you get to see some of 1), 2) and 3) in action. 10 of the passages in the book are designed to be read 3 times/day for 30 days, to train the subconscious to actually follow 1), 2) and 3) – and many other valuable life principles too.